Organizing and Productivity: Books that Help

First of all, Happy belated Mother’s Day to all of my momma friends!  Here is my mom holding my daughter Annie in Hendersonville, NC.  I call my mom at least once a day, and she is truly my best friend!  Love you mom – don’t know what I would do without ya!

One of the books that I am reading right now is called Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity by David Allen.  Anyone who is overwhelmed or feels they don’t have enough time to get all of the things done in one day (who doesn’t feel that way) should read this book.  I’m not finished yet, but I am loving this book so far, so I thought I would pass along some quotes from the book that I have really enjoyed.

“Your mind is for having ideas, not holding them.”

“There is no reason ever to have the same thought twice, unless you like having that thought.”

David Allen says: “The big difference between what I do and what others do is that I capture and organize 100 percent of my “stuff” in and with objective tools at hand, not in my mind.  And that applies to everything–little or big, personal or professional, urgent or not.  Everything.”

Another book that I have been enjoying is Organizing from the Inside Out: The Foolproof System for Organizing Your Home, Your Office, and Your Life by Julie Morgenstern.  I will be sharing some of her tips, but here are a few statistics she provided that I think are pretty crazy!

The Wall Street Journal reported that the average U.S. executive wastes six weeks per year searching for missing information in messy desks and files (that translates to just one hour per day!)

Cleaning professionals say that getting rid of excess clutter would eliminate 40 percent of the housework in an average home (National Soap and Detergent Association)

Realtors regard “first impression” improvements such as decluttering closets to be one of the smartest ways to speed the sale of a home and fetch a better price, according to the New York State Association of Realtors.

Leave a Reply

