Getting Things Done: Time Management Tips

1.  Tackle your biggest challenge first thing in the morning

I don’t know about most of you, but my mornings are usually pretty crazy getting the kids fed, dressed, and out the door.  By 9:00 a.m.,  I am usually exhausted!  BUT, I have learned that I need to get my most important projects done early in the day, or they usually do not get accomplished.  If you tackle that one important task that you really don’t want to do, first thing in the a.m., you will feel a sense of accomplishment throughout the day…yeah!!!  I know this is often better said that done (especially with young children at home), but at least give it a shot 🙂

2.  Have a Plan

Planning is one of the biggest parts to getting things done.  Every time I think of something I need to do, I put it on my calendar. I have my phone with me most of the time and if anytime anything comes up…whether it is the smallest thing like set up a playdate for my daughter the following week, I add it to my calendar.  That way, I ensure that things get done, and they are written down and out of my mind.  At the end of every day, I look at what I did and didn’t get done.  I usually get the most important tasks accomplished, and if something doesn’t get done, I move the event to another day.  Same thing goes with shopping and grocery list.  If I am cooking grits and realize we are down to the last bit, I go straight to my phone and add “grits” to my grocery list.  I usually have two lists going….one “shopping (Target) list” and a “grocery list.”  As far as tasks or your plan for the day goes, try not to put too many tasks on one day, or they will never get done.  I aim for 3-4 tasks a day.

3.  Set a Timer or watch the clock

If I get on my computer, I could easily stay here all day!  Watch how you are using your time.  For example, I try to allot only 15 minutes to Facebook a day.  I hardly ever check twitter, Instagram, and all the other fun social media sites; although, I wish I had the time to!  Don’t let yourself get caught up in shopping online, checking Facebook, watching TV, texting, etc… until you have gotten all of your tasks accomplished for the day and actually have time for all of that fun stuff.  I set a timer for myself with other small tasks that are not written on my plan for the day, but still have to get done…like cleaning the kitchen!  I tell myself I can get this done in 15 minutes and set the timer.  If I don’t get it all done, then too bad for me because with my OCD self, I could easily spend an hour cleaning the kitchen after every meal….soooo annoying!

4.  Keep a Positive Attitude 

Attitude can make or break your day and your productivity.  If you don’t get something done, don’t worry about it!  I have learned that my attitude can make or break my day and my productivity.  Try to keep a positive attitude, and if you don’t get everything done one day, just move it to the next day (or a day where you don’t have many tasks already scheduled).  You still want to schedule some fun to be with the ones you love and do things that you want to do!  If the task is important enough, you will find a way to get it done at some point.  The most important thing is to spend time with your family and friends and enjoy life…like these cute little munchkins in their school picture.  (Yes, Annie has some fancy braids in her hair for the school photo….a babysitter put them in her hair the night before, and I was afraid to take them out the next morning because her hair would be all crazy)! 🙂



2 thoughts on “Getting Things Done: Time Management Tips

Leave a Reply

