Spring has Sprung (Almost): Spring Organizing and Cleaning Part 1

spring

I can’t believe I am writing about spring cleaning and organizing….I feel like I was just writing about New Year’s resolutions.  Hmm…well, my nails are probably shorter than they were Jan. 1st and I probably weigh 2 lbs. more than I did on Jan. 1st….depressing.  What is even more depressing is that spring is just a few weeks away (especially if you are in Charleston).  In Charleston people will probably be on the beach in a month.  I have been exercising like a fool to get ready for spring and summer clothes, but nothing seems to be happening.  Maybe that is because the past two months have been filled with girls nights out, girl weekends away, and a trip to the Keys stuck in there.  At least I got to spend time with all of my best friends from Charleston, Orangeburg, and CofC the past two months.  Now it is crunch time!

Okay, on to more exciting things like spring cleaning and organizing!  I am going to write this in two parts since there are so many things you can do to do a clean sweep and freshen up your house for spring.  I personally feel that you can’t be and feel organized unless your house is clean!  No one wants to stay at home and organize in the summer months.  Most people want to be out at the beach (until August) and doing fun things with your family.  If you didn’t get organized this winter, do it now before summer sneaks up on you!

Here are 5 steps to help you get organized this spring:

1.  Start with your closet.  Give those old duds that you never wear to Goodwill or try to consign them.  Once your closet is organized and your spring clothes are out and winter clothes put away (or in the back of your closet), you will feel so much better!  I swear by a tip that Megan Evans of The Well Coiffed Closet told me when she once helped me with my wardrobe (I need help in that department again).  She told me to buy the Real Simple hangars from Bed, Bath, & Beyond, and it has made a world of difference.  Not only does my closet look better, the clothes stay on the hangars and it just looks organized.  Also, try to organize your clothes by category….however you want.  I do mine with dresses on one side and then pants, skirts, and tops on the other side.  Short sleeve shirts are in one area and long sleeve in another.  All of the clothes are also organized by color. Once you get your closet organized, try to follow the “one in, one out” rule.  When you buy something new, take something out that you never wear and give it away.

2.  Once you get finished with your closet, head to other closets in your house.  Schedule a yard sale, or better yet, bring it to my house and I will sell it for you on March 9th at my yard sale.  I know I have said this before, but I have 2 yard sales a year. I guess everyone doesn’t need to do this, but I am in the stage of life with little kids, and things they play with or use change so much from season to season.  Time to purge in the spring!

3.  If you have some extra cash, invest in a great cleaning crew to come in and do a good “deep clean” on your house.  Just having clean baseboards and fans and doors makes a world of difference.  On that note, also giving your house a good pressure wash is so helpful!  Get your house CLEAN on the inside and out!

4.  Hit the pantry and fridge.  Look at the dates on everything in your fridge and purge expired and old items.  Schedule an hour in your day and wipe down the shelves in your fridge and freezer and it will feel so much better and ready for all of those fresh fruits and veggies you get to buy at the Farmer’s Market in a few weeks.

5. Be ruthless when it comes to decluttering.  If you don’t love it or use it, get rid of it.  Now is the perfect time to start embracing the art of Feng Shui.  Less clutter means less cleaning, less things to look at, and less stress.  Keep it simple!

One thought on “Spring has Sprung (Almost): Spring Organizing and Cleaning Part 1

  1. Pingback: Spring has Sprung: Part 2 | Ducks in a Row Organizing

Leave a Reply

